English Department Speaker Series

English Department Speaker Series

Fall 2016

Dr. Craig Dionne, Eastern Michigan University, SEPT 19, contact Dr. Steve Mentz, mentzs@stjohns.edu

Dr. Juan Guerra,University of Washington, OCT 5 & OCT 6, contact Drs. Anne Geller, gellera@stjohns

Annie Finch, Poet, Writer, Performer,OCT 11, contact Prof Lee Ann Brown, brownl@stjohns.edu

Dr. Raquel Gates, College of Staten Island, CUNY OCT 27, contact Dr. Shanté Paradigm Smalls, smallss@stjohns.edu


Spring 2016

The Speaker Series English Department – SJU

Dr. Sonia Sanchez, FEB 11, contact Drs. Dohra Ahmad or Raj Chetty, ahmadd@stjohns.edu or chettyr@stjohns.edu

Dr. Jordan Alexander Stein, “Queering Slavery and Abolition,” MARCH 3, location TBD. Organized by Michael Carosone, doctoral candidate, michael.carosone08@my.stjohns.edu

Robert Siek, APRIL 6, Reading and Talk: “Living in Poetry, Working in Publishing,” SJU Manhattan Campus, 101 Astor Place, NYC, contact Michael Carosone, michael.carosone08@my.stjohns.edu

 Maria Lisella, Queens Poet Laureate and Journalist: “Women’s Writing: Never Done” – Monday, April 11th, 5:30pm, Room 316, Marillac Hall, Queens Campus  https://www.dnainfo.com/new-york/20150609/kew-gardens/poet-journalist-maria-lisella-selected-as-new-laureate-for-queens

Prof. Daniel Jose Older, “The Street is a Book: Crossroads of Power and Spirit in the City”April 14, Institute for Writing Studies Lounge (Main Library, 1st Floor), contact Dr. Shanté Paradigm Smalls, smallss@stjohns.edu

Dr. Cristina Bruns, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, LaGuardia Community College: “Why Literature?: The Value of Literary Reading and What It Means for Teaching” – Thursday, April 14th, 5:30pm, Room 101, Marillac Hall, Queens Campus

Dr. Christopher Hellstrom, D.A., English, ‘15 SJC: “Alt-Ac Careers for the Humanities Major” – Thursday, April 21st, 5:30pm, Room 328, Marillac Hall, Queens Campus  https://www.dnainfo.com/new-york/20150701/st-george/staten-island-arts-names-new-executive-director

Tiphanie Yanique, April 28, contact Prof. Gabe Brownstein, brownstg@stjohns.edu