American Literature Society 1921 Prize (essay)

The American Literature Society is pleased to announce a new prize awarded to the best article in any field of American literature. The 1921 Prize in American Literature is named for the year the ALS organization was initially founded “to promote and diversify the study of American Literature.” Judged by a panel made up of members of the American Literature Society Advisory Board and other scholars in the field, the competition will be divided in two categories: one for graduate students, scholars in contingent positions, and untenured faculty members; one for tenured faculty. The winner will be announced at the 2017 MLA American Literature Society panel.

Rules for competition:

•Please send an electronic copy of the nominated essay (PDF preferred) to the 1921 Prize Committee by 15 September 2016 at

•Authors must be members of the American Literature Society to be eligible for consideration. To join the society, please visit

•No person may nominate more than one essay in a given year.

•Only one article per author may be considered, regardless of who nominates the article.

•Articles must appear during the calendar year in one of the following journals: African American Review; American Literary History; American Literary Realism; American Literature; Arizona Quarterly; Early American Literature; ESQ; J19; Legacy; MELUS; Studies in American Fiction; and Studies in American Indian Literatures. Essays that appear elsewhere cannot be considered.

•Articles scheduled to appear in 2016, but not yet published by the deadline, will be considered if authors provide verification of their publication within the calendar year.

•A nominal cash prize, to be announced later, will accompany the award.

Questions about the prize should be directed to Elizabeth Duquette (

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.