First-Year Writing Program

First-Year Writing Program

The First-Year Writing Program is comprised of faculty dedicated to the teaching of undergraduate writing. These faculty and the program are housed in the Institute for Core Studies. These faculty consistently have some of the highest student evaluation of teaching scores in the University. Full-time faculty in the program have published articles in College Composition and Communication, Composition Forum, English Journal, College English, Journal of the Assembly for Expanded Perspectives on Learning, Pedagogy, PsyArt, Radical Teacher, Workplace, and Writing on the Edge; chapters in books published by Parlor Press, SUNY Press, and the University of Georgia Press; and written books with Parlor Press and the University of Missouri Press. Among them, these faculty have given over 100 presentations on panels, roundtables, and workshops at conferences such as the Association for Literature and the Environment, the Conference on College Composition and Communication, the Contemplative Campus Conference, the CUNY Feminist Pedagogy Conference, the Feminisms and Rhetoric Conference, the Hofstra “Who Owns Writing?” Conference, the Modern Language Association, the New England Writing Center Association Conference, the Northeast Modern Language Association, National Council of Teachers of English, the Thomas R. Watson Conference, the SUNY Conference on Writing, the Trauma and Learning in Post-Secondary Education Conference, the University of CT Conference on the Teaching of Writing, and others. First-year writing faculty are also active in publishing literary nonfiction, novels, short fiction, poetry, and even film.

All St. John’s University students are required to take FYW 1000C “English Composition,” and the First-Year Writing program is responsible for designing and teaching the curriculum for this course. All faculty design their own courses, which are connected by a shared set of learning objectives designed by the faculty. Our faculty meet with students for one-on-one consultations periodically throughout the semester.

Steven Alvarez
Assistant Professor
Coordinator, First-Year Writing



  • Endrit Agolli
  • Kofi Antwi
  • Nicholas Bellino
  • Anna Cairney
  • Sarah Coluccio
  • Harry Ewan
  • Cristen Fitzpatrick
  • Stephanie Gray
  • Barbara Harrington
  • Kristen Hoffman
  • Tina Iemma
  • Abriana Jetté
  • Scott Koski
  • Virginia Maresca
  • Alison Perry
  • Preetica Pooni
  • Michael Reich
  • Alexandra Sears
  • Laila Shikaki
  • Joanne Sills
  • Rachael Stark
  • Kumru Susel
  • Amy Walsh